Why journalism?

A bit behind the times, but in his lecture last Monday Roy Greenslade put forward the view that one reason why more and more people are signing up to journalism courses is because they (misguidedly perhaps) believe that journalism leads to fame and fortune (well maybe not the latter). Apparently this year the number of applications to City has shot up (so best of luck to those of you I know have applied). Is this because all potential City bloggers have a burning desire to be the next super-celeb columnist or editor?

When Greenslade asked no-one admitted they had chosen to go into journalism in order to garner fame and plaudits. But if you have an ambition to do something to the best of your abilities and are a high achiever, then is some sort of fame or at least recognition really that out of your trajetory?

Myself, I chose to do journalism because I love writing. I was heavily involved with my student paper at university and loved every minute of it, the all-nighters, the arguments, the slow, slow computers with an early edition of Indesign and a propensity towards crashing. I also love meeting people and since coming to City doing interviews has been the highlight. I have met drug addicts, environmental campaigners, cancer sufferers, celebrities, bog snorklers and many others. I have learnt so much about subjects I had never even considered and that is what I love about this job. However, it would be churlish of me to deny that being recognised in my field wouldn’t be a nice perk, and that the idea of being famous one day isn’t just a little bit appealing.

So, what was it that made you want to get into journalism? And would you turn down fame and fortune if they came knocking?

[Note: video to follow. Once I get a handle on multimedia and stop approaching it like a monkey trying to turn on a computer. How exciting.]

5 responses to “Why journalism?

  1. I got into journalism, albeit through sheer ridiculous good luck rather than by training formally, for the same reason as you: I love writing.

    Before I discovered music, literature was my entire life. Although gigs, recording music and learning the guitar have become huge passions in recent years, though, reading and writing are still my greatest loves. I realised I was totally smitten with my current boy this weekend when we arrived home from the pub in the middle of the night and he was up for writing pieces and reading them to each other, and I count myself unbelievably blessed to live in a household full of people who are completely obsessed with their various creative endeavours and always willing to do mini workshops and share their work.

    Like you, interviewing has become a huge part of why I love my job so much. I have learnt more than I could have dreamed of about subjects ranging from the nuclear industry to the intracacies of glaucoma treatment.

    I have known I wanted to be a writer since I was in primary school and everyone else aspired to a career in sport, teaching or veterinary care, but I’ve never felt constrained by my certainty in the slighest. It’s my lifelong, overriding passion and I hope it is always as much fun as it is right now.

  2. Newspaper Journalism MA course fees 2009/10: £7,495

    Clearly, one has to spend money to make money.

  3. I got into journalism for the women.

    I’ll let you know how I get on.

  4. Out of my class of some 80 undergrads at journalism school, fewer than a quarter remain employed in journalism (myself included) since we graduated seven years ago. Many wandered off to public relations, others went on for further studies. Sobering thought.

    • A depressing thought indeed. Especially in the current climate (how I loathe that expression, but unfortunately it’s true). We’ve been told by some that only a handful of us will stick to/become successful in journalism. Naturally, we all think it’s going to be us. Otherwise, what would be the point?

Leave a comment